Storie dopo le storie

(Stories after the stories) Book not yet available in English


The book imagines the life of the female characters of some great classics (such as Cinderella, Hansel and Gretel, The Three Little Pigs, The Sleeping Beauty in the Forest, The Princess and the Pea, Little Red Riding Hood, Snow White, Little Thumb, Puss in Boots), after their fateful ending sentence “And they all lived happily ever after.”


This book makes its readers reflect on some stereotypical representations which has long imprisoned the female figures of some fairy tales. This revised version of the classics does not reverse their stories, but it presents female characters who, after the traditional ending, become active protagonists of their lives, taking their destiny into their own hands. They are thus able to find a job as well as autonomy in their family environment, and to imagine a liberation from the stereotypes that have long accompanied them in the collective imagination. “La Collana dei piccoli” (The series of the little ones), published by Einaudi, contains the books of both classic writers, such as Gianni Rodari, and contemporary writers who love to refer to the world of classics, proposing a renewed version of them.

Edited by: Centro MeTRa (Italy)

Author(s): Masini, Beatrice

Illustrator(s): Mariani, Mirella

Series: La collana dei piccoli

Publisher: Einaudi Ragazzi

City: Trieste

Year: 2012

Pages: 111

ISBN: 9788879269940

Age Range: 6 - 10

Language: IT

Original Language: IT

Keywords: Female characters, Princess/prince, Relationships, Rewriting

Also available in:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Keywords (OR)

  • Age Ranges

  • Languages