Ruby Redford: look into my eyes


In this series of books, the main character is Ruby Redfort, a young girl who is a genius, and at the age of 8 created a code that Harvard professors couldn’t crack. In this first book in the series, Ruby’s adventures begin when she discovers and is hired by Spectrum, a spy agency.


The character Ruby Redfort first appeared as Clarice Bean’s favourite fictional heroine in Child’s Clarice Bean stories, and so it allows readers of those stories to follow and develop with this intelligent and resourceful character. Ruby’s intelligence and ability mean she is recruited by a spy agency and immediately put this girl character into a position of power.

Edited by: Centre for Children’s Literature and Culture Studies (Ireland)

Author(s): Child, Lauren

Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books

City: London

Year: 2015

Pages: 432

ISBN: 9780007334070

Age Range: 6 - 10

Language: EN

Original Language: EN

Keywords: Diversity, Empowerment, Female characters, Positive role model

Also available in:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Keywords (OR)

  • Age Ranges

  • Languages